HANGING OUT MY STARS FOR EVERYONE TO SEE

"How Dreams Are Made" by evilmuffins - deviantART.com

I reread my last blog post.  Seems like I lapse into article-speak every once in a while.  I think it’s because it makes it easier to get ideas across when I’m not so personally attached to the information.  I’m trying to keep it real, people!  I swear!

But seeing as how I am audacious enough — apologetically so — to try to teach from the front end of a five-year plan and not the back end, it seems only fair after Thursday’s lecture that I put on my Big Girl Panties and show you my own Grand Scheme.

I must confess, I entertained holding back a lot of the items for fear of being judged crazy as dirt.  But I decided at the beginning of this that I would be as honest as I could.  After all, this is about me actively pursuing my dream to become a Paid Professional Writer and sharing my experience with success and mistakes.

So…I’ll show you mine if you show me yours.

~~~

Ang’s Grand Scheme

1.  Five-Year Plan ~ by the beginning of 2015, I want to make my living primarily from writing.

2.  One-Year Plan ~ 2010 ~ 1,000,000 words; 50 46 new short stories; Script Frenzy in April; NaNoWriMo in November; 2 kids’ book projects; polish and circulate “Venice” (novel project); “Project BLG” (novel project); develop and begin “HI* Project” (a novel series); 12 new poems; get all of my inventory out and circulating; devote one month solely to writing short stories; sell book; sell stories; submit to each quarter of WOTF contest; sell “Suiciders”; hire an agent; get organized; multi-short story technique idea; reportable income $100,000 (from all income streams).

3.  February Task List ~ 84,000 words / 3,000 words a day; 5 new short stories; finish “Suiciders”; finish first draft of “Venice”; submit 6 5 fiction pieces; submit 3 poems; post more than 10 posts on blog and beat my record day of 38 views; upload a story to OWW online group; upload a story to Zoetrope online group; read 28 22 published short stories (keep track of markets); 2 new poems; finish reading “Julie & Julia”; finish reading “Saving Fish From Drowning”; brainstorm BLG project; sort out business records.

~~~

It’s insane, I know.  That’s why I packed it together in a paragraph.  Makes it look like a shorter list.  But this is my whole bite-off-more-than-I-can-chew approach.  I can’t explain it.  It just seems to be how I’m wired.

So I will report each month on my progress, as well as any problems I run into and how I’ve tried to solve them.  As I am committed to public scrutiny at this point, feel free to bug me as much as you want.  Threaten me with jeers and I-told-you-sos if I don’t get busy.  Whatever it takes to keep the ground beneath my feet sizzlin’ hot.

I do the same for you.  🙂

This entry was posted in Getting Organized, Getting Things Done, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

