THE SUNDAY SHORT STORY REPORT

Keeping it short and sweet this week, guys.  I’ve got unfinished fiction screaming for attention on my desk, and it’s hurting my brain.

43.  “Fort Clay, Louisiana:  A Tragical History” by Albert E. Cowdrey (Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Mar/Apr 2010)

This one really drew me along, but I have to be honest, once I got to the final few pages, I realized where the author was going with it and rather wish he didn’t.  I would have liked to have been surprised with such a marvelous build-up.  But even with the predictable ending, I still think it’s a great story…mostly because I’m still thinking about it. 🙂

44.  “Star-Crossed” by Tim Sullivan (Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Mar/Apr 2010)

I didn’t really embark on this short story report with the intention of reviewing…just simply listing what I’ve read…but aw, what the hell.  I’m bound to have a negative opinion sooner or later, and this guy’s been around long enough he can take it.

This story was just okay for me.  Although it was exciting and action-packed, at its core it is a love story, one that doesn’t ring true.  Kind of a deal-breaker for this reader.  (Rocking title though.)

I will say, though,  Mr. Sullivan has a story in F&SF’s April 2008 issued entitled, “The Nocturnal Adventure of Mr. O and Mr. D,” which I read contemporaneously, and I still remember it quite vividly.  I loved this story enough that I may have to dig it out again and reread it now that I have been reminded of it.

45.  “Parachute” by Shelly Li (Cosmos Magazine)

This is the type of story I love to read:  character-driven science fiction.  A woman rebuilds her old flame from collected body parts and resurrects him with his recovered memories (his SOUL).  It’s a wonderful story.  I only wish the ending were drawn out a bit, that there was a little more struggle on the protagonist’s part before she makes the decision she does.  Recommend.

That’s it.  I’ll try to read more next week.  And I will also try to read more stories that are available online.  But for now, I write.

This entry was posted in Marketing, Research, short stories, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment